Chapter 2: Time Cut Short

Authorial Interjection – Please be aware that the following chapter includes graphic violence. I apologize if this offends anyone. Read at your own risk.

The fear that had haunted me throughout the night pursued me into my waking moments. The soft sunlight that shone through my window did nothing to liberate me of my dread.

I sat up and wiped my eyes as the not-so-muffled voices of mom and Woody swept into my room. I was about to get up to greet Woody when I realized their voices appeared to be in some sort of argument.

Instead of leaving my bedroom, I perched on the edge of my bed and listened attentively.

“I won’t let you do it Miss Rachel. I absolutely will not allow you to.” Woody sounded anxious as he spoke to my mother. “I can’t even believe you would take such a risk.”

“What risk Woody?” Mom asked. “One date, that was the deal. I hardly think much risk is involved.”

“You know as well as I do that if you give a rat a crumb, he’ll make himself at home in your walls by bedtime.” Woody stated with conviction.

Mom sighed heavily and their conversation continued in hushed tones as I quickly got dressed so I could make my appearance.

I attempted to act inconspicuous as I walked out of my bedroom and took a seat at the small table in our trailer. I noticed Woody wearing the same clothing as the night before and his favorite hat that I rarely saw him without. Mom, as usual, was wearing her hair tied back and under a fresh kerchief.

Woody’s eyes gleamed with playfulness when they met mine. “Someone just stroll in here unannounced? Without even saying good morning to old Woody?”

I couldn’t help the smile that stretched across my face as I jumped up to greet Woody with a hug and enthusiastic “Good morning!”

Mom chuckled softly before saying, “Alright now, both of you sit down and I’ll have breakfast ready in no time at all.”

The wonderful aroma of fresh waffles permeated the air around our small trailer as mom finished cooking. She served us each a plate before sitting down herself to join us.

“Mmm mm mmm!” Woody exclaimed delightfully as he took his first bite. “I cannot thank you enough for this fine breakfast, Miss Rachel.”

“You can thank me by taking home some leftovers. I’ve made more than enough for us all.” Mom replied.

“I’ll be more than happy to! And how about I own up to the promise I made to Gabby? After we finish our breakfast, I will take us all out for a day of fishing!”

Mom agreed and we chatted lightly as we munched on our yummy waffles.

Woody led the way out of the house after breakfast had been finished and cleaned up. We had to make a quick stop at his trailer to pick up our fishing poles before heading to the fishing spot.

As mom and I waited outside his home, she turned to me and smiled, “Are you sure you don’t want to put on something more suitable for a day outside, Gabby?”

I looked down at what I was wearing and shrugged. “It’s a Gabby special mommy!”

Mom laughed and leaned down to plant a kiss on my cheek.

“Alright ladies, we’re all set.” Woody said as he returned to us.

The day looked promising as we marched along together. The sun was shining, Woody was whistling, and I had easily tossed aside my worries.

As we were exiting our trailer park, I caught sight of Locke Mclendon standing in the open gateway of the inner fence. I pretended not to see him as he glared our way.

Like an ever-looming cloud of doom, he had appeared to darken my bright spirits.

The fishing spot Woody brought us to was peaceful. We were isolated in nature and every sound of wildlife could be clearly heard.

Mom detected the worry that creased across my brow line. “What’s wrong sweetheart?” She asked.

“It’s nothing mommy.” I replied.

“Don’t make me ask twice Gabrielle Hidalgo.” She chided softly.

Seeking the comfort I knew I needed, I gave in and answered, “It’s Locke mommy. He scares me.”

Mom bent down and embraced me, “Oh my dear Gabby. Let mommy handle the things that scare you. Okay?”

I hugged her as tightly as I could and nodded.

She pulled back a bit and looked down at me lovingly. “I promise Gabby, I promise to always protect you.”

“Son of a… this darn thing just isn’t what it used to be.” Woody’s frustrated voice interrupted our solemn moment. He fumbled with his fishing rod and when he cast it into the water, it bobbed a bit before being pushed onto the sand by the soft waves.

Mom and I turned to stare at each other for an instant before bursting out laughing.

“What do you say to a game of tag?” Mom challenged.

I quickly pushed away from her and ran to Woody. “You’re IT!” I screamed as I tagged him and ran up the small hill to the trees.

“Well hey now…”  Woody said as mom rushed past him and quickly caught up to me.

“Come on Woody!” She called back to him.

“No fair!” I squealed when mom dashed ahead of me.

Mom’s laughter floated back to me and I giggled when I glanced back at Woody huffing and puffing behind us. All my troubles seemed to have faded in the soft breeze that swirled around us.

Later that night, mom surprised me by puttiing on one of her pretty yellow dresses instead of dressing for bed like I had done.

I regarded her questioningly as I admired how pretty she looked. Although she hadn’t put any real effort into getting dressed up, she looked great with her hair falling softly on her shoulders.

She smiled at me as I continued to stare before saying, “I’m sorry Gabby. I should have told you sooner, but I didn’t want you to worry.”

“What is it mommy?” I asked, uneasiness already creeping into my heart.

“Yesterday I told Locke I would meet him tonight for our date.” She quickly continued before I had a chance to speak up. “I don’t want you worrying Gabby. He’s too cheap to take me out anywhere.  I’m just meeting him at his place for a late dinner.”

Now I knew why she had hardly eaten the dinner she had prepared for us. She had been planning this all day. Woody must have known and that’s why he showed up in the morning to try to talk her out of it.

Mom’s eyes moved nervously to the clock on our wall as it ticked 9:16 p.m.

“I’m stalling.” She laughed tensely.

She quickly gathered herself before saying, “I have to go Gabby. Locke might demand another date if I take too much time to meet him. You can stay up for a while watching tv if you want. It’s a Saturday night after all.”

Then she kissed me goodnight and headed out our trailer door.

I wanted to stop her. I wanted to scream out a protest and demand that she stay here with me. Instead I plodded over to our couch and sank into the cushions.

Although I sat staring at the tv screen, nothing seemed to register. My mind was filled with thoughts of my mother as she made her way over to meet Locke. I was angry that he had threatened her and persuaded her to unwillingly do as he demanded.

He’s evil! A monster!  I thought to myself.

What would my daddy have done about this?  I wondered.

My father was not present in our lives. Mom had always answered my questions about him when I grilled her for information. He was in the military when they met. Mom said they had fallen in love quickly and before they could get married, she was pregnant with me. Dad, Elias Rodas, was happy to be having a baby with my mother. He proposed before he was called back to the army but he never returned home. He died some time before I was born.

It wasn’t unusual for me to imagine him and what he might say or do during a certain time of my life.

I was drifting off to sleep on the couch with the tv still on when I was abruptly awaken by a loud slam. I snapped my head around and realized my mother had roughly closed the door behind her when she entered.

“Mommy?” I asked apprehensively. She had the strangest look on her face. Almost as though she wasn’t really seeing anything.  She looked as though she was sleepwalking.

She walked unsteadily to the center of the trailer and before I knew it, she was sobbing.

“Mommy!” I half squeaked, half shouted in alarm. “Mommy what is it?!”

I had never seen my mother act this way before. She was always the one comforting me. I had no idea what to do. I moved slowly to stand in front of her.

“Mom I…” I began but was cut off as mom began speaking.

“I’m so sorry Gabby, I’m so sorry baby. I love you Gabby” She struggled to get the words out between her sobs.

Horrified I watched with wide eyes as her body unexpectedly twisted in pain and she let out an agonized moan. Her wail of anguish pierced my senses and echoed in my mind.

I was petrified. I could do nothing but stare in disbelief.

What do I do?!  I screamed in my head. What’s happening?!

My mother’s body went limp as she collapsed forward on to me. I put my arms out to catch her but we fell to the ground together.

The metallic smell of copper hit my nose as a thick liquid coated my hands that were wrapped around my mother. I pulled one hand back around to me so I could see what it was. Blood. It looked like blood.

I had knicked myself enough times to know what blood looked like, but I refused to believe it. There was too much of it. It couldn’t be on my mother.

I reached around my mother again, feeling her back with both hands cautiously. My finger scraped the side of something sharp and I pulled back in pain as a wound opened up on my finger.

Panicked, I crawled out from under my mother and stared at the thing protruding from her back.

Stabbed. She was stabbed.

I shook my head furiously at the scene before me, willing it to go away. I closed my eyes tightly and prayed. Prayed that this wasn’t real, this wasn’t happening.

Oh God, please help me, please!  My pleas went unanswered and I screamed. I screamed until my throat went hoarse.

My thoughts suddenly flew to Woody. Woody would know what to do.

“I’ll get help mommy! I’ll get Woody and he’ll help you!” Blindly I ran from the trailer.

Woody must have heard my screams through the open windows of our trailers. He was already on his way to me. I crashed headlong into him as he reached my porch and I fell into his arms. I managed to shriek at him to help my mother before my mind became clouded with darkness. My head spun and I felt nauseated. Before another thought could enter my mind, I passed out into oblivion as the blackness consumed me.

Some time during my mother’s tortured state, she had twisted over onto her back and ended up pushing the knife deeper into herself. From what I later gathered, Woody had found my mother and called the police. The ambulance had arrived and tried in vain to stop my mother’s bleeding on the way to the hospital. My mother bled to death and was announced DOA, dead on arrival.

My mother, the beautiful Rachel Hidalgo, was now lost to me. She had worked hard to keep a decent place for us to live. She loved me, she cared for me, and did what she thought best to protect me.

She was ripped from my arms that Saturday night; like my father had been ripped from hers so long ago.

Why couldn’t I have gone with her?

2 thoughts on “Chapter 2: Time Cut Short

Leave a comment